Spilled Blueberries

Blueberry ladyFullSizeRender

There’s a new Sprouts Farmers Market store in town. Ironically it is within walking distance of the house we moved from three years ago. It would have been nice but that’s how the avocado crumbles sometimes.

 

We drove up to North Raleigh today because we needed to pick up the corsage for Will to give his prom date tonight. He was busy running “Airman’s School” all day (?) Sprouts is the store of the moment filled with lots of organic produce and all things crossing between Trader Joes and Whole Foods.

 

As we debated between the organic red potatoes and the russets, blueberries came spilling all over the floor. This tall African American woman says, “I am NOT perfect yet and so now I have spilled my blueberries.” She was smiling and we were all scrambling on the floor picking up the berries. “I am 69 years old and I have learned what matters and what does not. Spilling blueberries does not.” Of course I am now staring in awe thinking, “Okay, God may have arrived in my midst with this profound message so I better pay attention.” I am also thinking, “Can you please be my wise and grounded friend?” But, once all the blueberries were retrieved I moved on to the Kombucha sampling trying once again to convince myself that this was a good thing and not like pouring vinegar down my throat. I still hate it by the way.

 

Soon, Shep came over to me and said, “I can’t believe what that woman just said.” “What?” I asked studying the Formaldehyde free nail polish. She said, “ Oh spilling blueberries didn’t stress me out. When my husband was executed, that was stressful.” She said this with a smile and a genuiness and Shep stood there speechless and stunned as I was as well when he related this to me.

 

It’s true isn’t it? I am still mulling this dramatic story over in my mind. We were checking out at the same time as this special woman and I watched her arguing with the checker to make sure she was charged for the empty container of blueberries. The clerk kept saying this was not necessary but this smiling woman insisted. I was so in awe of her that I took her picture. She WAS God, wasn’t she? Right in my midst. I forgot to even genuflect but I should have.

Leave a Reply

